It is not rare to come across people who have suffered workplace injuries in Virginia. Fortunately, the workers’ compensation system is designed to help injured workers. No matter whether you suffered a sudden injury in a mishap at work or have been recently diagnosed with an occupational disease, you can claim benefits. A skilled Virginia workers’ compensation attorney can help evaluate the worth of your claim and negotiate with the insurance company for your benefits. In this post, we are discussing the steps that matter after getting injured. 

This blog post explains what a snake bite piercing is and the ways in which it can be done. The writer also provides some helpful information on how to get pierced, who should get pierced, and what to expect from it!

  1. Don’t delay in seeking medical attention. No matter how small your injury may seem or whether you are feeling okay, you need to check with a doctor after a workplace accident. Besides being a crucial factor for your own wellbeing, it also allows you to establish the fact that you were injured in an accident on the given date and sought medical attention. 
  2. Inform your employer. Because the immediate impact of the accident is such, many injured workers fail to notify their employer of the accident. If you fail to do so, your workers’ compensation claim could be denied. While the law allows you 30 days to report the mishap, you must do so at the earliest. If you are diagnosed with a work-related illness, you should inform the employer within 30 days from the date of diagnosis or discovery. 
  3. Keep your documents and evidence handy. If you have reported the accident to the employer or have gathered statements from your colleagues and witnesses, make a file and keep everything safe. You should also have a detailed file that contains all your medical records, which will be handy for your workers’ compensation claim. 
  4. Contact an attorney. Not all injuries are covered under the workers’ compensation system. Let us explain. For instance, if you were a heart patient and suffered a stroke during the lunch break at work, you may not get workers’ compensation benefits. An attorney can help evaluate what your claim is all about. 
  5. File a workers’ compensation claim. You have two years to file the claim with Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission. Your employer is expected to report to the Commission about your injury within ten days, but you may want to do that too. 

Life is unlikely to be the same after a work-related accident, and it only makes sense that you hire a reliable workers’ compensation attorney to protect your interests.